High Anxiety: Maternity Leave Begins . . . Now?

So my maternity leave begins today, on my “official” due date (update: no baby yet) and I feel . . . completely paralyzed. It started like an ordinary day: I fed us all breakfast, handed Scott and Sid their lunches, and saw them off to school/work, while I . . . stayed home. I’m currently sitting in my pajamas, watching an episode of Hart of Dixie on Netflix, while my heart races and I stay off email. After sending out reminder emails to my co-workers.

I’m not sure what I was expecting. There were certainly times at work when I encountered an annoyance and thought, “Thank god I won’t have to deal with this for a few months.” (And frankly, work probably felt the same way about me!) But now that I’m on hiatus, all I can think about are the things I’ve left undone.

Obviously, I’m going to have bigger fish to fry shortly. And I’ll have plenty of things to occupy my time. But I’ve worked pretty much nonstop for 17 years, and the idea of stepping away, even temporarily, is freaking me out. Hopefully labor will distract me shortly.

One thought on “High Anxiety: Maternity Leave Begins . . . Now?

Leave a Reply

