Circle of Chicken: Chicken Soup With Rice

There are two soups–plucked from my favorite childhood books–that fill some cozy recess of my soul, and chicken soup with rice is one of them.

Chicken Soup With Rice Maurice Sendak

A craving for chicken soup with rice took hold of me last week, seemingly out of the blue. In fact, I don’t have any memory of actually eating this soup, except perhaps at some diner that offered it as the soup of the day.

So I have no idea if this is an “authentic” chicken and rice soup recipe, it’s just the dish I always pictured when I read Maurice Sendak’s Chicken Soup With Rice. And it does seem to me like the kind of soup you can eat at any time of the year: warm and comforting, like a hug for your tummy.

Plus, I realized, this would make an excellent Circle of Chicken recipe, using the leftover meat from Perfect Roast Chicken and eight cups of Golden Chicken Broth of Happiness. This makes it incredibly convenient and inexpensive to make.

Golden Chicken Broth of Happiness

Chicken broth, ready and waiting from the freezer!

Now, if you are craving this soup and don’t have these items on hand, go right ahead with some best-quality canned or boxed broth and some shredded rotisserie chicken (or pop a chicken breast or two in with the rice, and then remove it, shred, and return it to the soup after it’s cooked through).

However, top-quality ingredients are the key to making a simple soup like this shine. I threw it together in about 30 minutes last night, and my husband is still raving about how good it was!

Chicken Soup With Rice
Serves 6

You need:

1 Tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 large yellow onion, chopped
1 large carrot, peeled and cut into 1/4″-1/2″ dice
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
8 cups chicken broth
1 1/2 cups long-grain white rice
1 1/2-2 cups leftover chicken, chopped or shredded
2-3 cups of water, to taste
Salt and pepper, to taste

Warm the olive oil in a large soup pot over medium-high heat. Add the onion, carrot, and garlic and cook, stirring, for about 5 minutes. Turn the heat down to medium-low and continue to cook until onion is soft and translucent, about 10 minutes.
Garlic, carrot, onion--oh my!

Garlic, carrot, onion–oh my!

Add the chicken broth and bring to a boil; add the rice and stir. Let simmer 15 minutes, or until rice is soft. Add the leftover chicken and water, if desired (my soup got quite thick). Season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve with some warm bread and butter.
Chicken Soup With Rice

Chicken soup with rice, perfect for any month of the year.

Do you have any go-to soup recipes? Favorite children’s books? Post them below!

6 thoughts on “Circle of Chicken: Chicken Soup With Rice

    • We-e-ell I had one break this time around (after it was mostly frozen, so not messy), so I may stop. I use canning jars, and from now on I’ll leave an inch of “headspace” for expansion!

      Like

Leave a Reply

