The Many “Phases” of Kitty Pryde

I found this in a box of “memories” my parents gave me when they moved to their new house last year, and–well–I felt the need to share it with you.

Kitty Pryde Costumes

I estimate that I was 15 or 16 when I drew this, deep into my X-Men/Excalibur addiction. As you can see, I’ve got Kitty pre-X-Men, in the traditional black/yellow costume, in one of her Sprite (?!) costumes (lower left), as Shadowcat in the John Romita, Jr. days (lower right), and as her Excalibur incarnation in the center.

As you can see, I loved puns even then, because I have always been super cool. I don’t remember, but I must have drawn one of the small faces and traced it? Or I was totally crazy.

Who were your comic book character obsessions? Got any fan art to confess to?

3 thoughts on “The Many “Phases” of Kitty Pryde

  1. Great job on X-Plain the X-Men this week! I was obsessed with Power Pack. I discovered it on the newsstand with #2 and bought every issue until the end of it’s run, even after it started totally sucking in the 40’s. My other obsession was Captain Britain. I scoured flea markets in the late 80’s trying to find every issue of the tabloid-sized UK title.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! I wish the Alan Moore Captain Britain were back in print–I’ve heard awesome things about it! I know Miles loves Power Pack. I’ll need to look into it for my own kids. 🙂

      Like

  2. This is so cute! Kitty’s one my favorite characters. I first fell in love with her character from X-Men: Evolution, and from the comics I’ve read so far, I continue to find her amazing.

    I never could draw that well, though I’m trying to get better at it. I will admit to writing fan fiction, though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

