Happy Monday! Links to Make Your Day Brighter

Oh, you guys. I am recovering from a massive sugar hangover this morning. If you saw my Twitter feed this weekend, you saw that I made a gigantic Minecraft grass cube cake for Sid’s 10th birthday. Three batches of cake batter. Seven-plus pounds of cake. Nineteen cups of powdered sugar for all the frosting. 397 square inches of cake. We will have cake until next year. But! A wonderful time was had by all, and Sid is officially in the double digits. Sob!

Minecraft Grass Cube Cake

More than seven . . . pounds . . . of cake.

We also took a trip to Great Wolf Lodge in nearby Washington. It was a lot more fun than I thought it would be (in large part due to the margaritas Sid’s mom Myndi and I had at the waterpark).

Here are some links to help ease you into the week/dull the pain of your children growing up and leaving the nest:

Erik Larsen (creator of Savage Dragon) bemoaned “practical” female superhero costumes this weekend on Twitter, and everyone had a civilized debate. Just kidding! Everyone sharpened their knives and went to town. ComicBooked.com had a great take on this.

I know I keep linking to Zero Waste Chef every week, but she keeps hitting it out of the park! Go read 7 Big Food Marketing Gimmicks and have your eyes opened!

Speaking of zero waste, my Mom made this Buddha Bowl from Pamela Salzman with quinoa this week and it was sooooooo good. Definitely going to use my overstock of tahini to make this.

Pattern Behavior has been making the rounds, a Tumblr of vintage clothing patterns with hilarious captions. If you haven’t checked it out yet, trust me–it’s super funny.

Pattern Behavior

Have you checked out Kitchenette, an offshoot of Jezebel? Every Monday they post horrible/hilarious restaurant stories, and as a former server, I cannot resist. This week’s post: Terrible Restaurant Customers and the Revenge They So Justly Deserved. How can you resist this title?

This week: we’re getting ready to go to Massachusetts for a week (yes, it is still snowing . . . we may not ever come back) and then we hit Emerald City Comicon! Traveling for 10 days in two states with two kids is inspiring me to come up with a 10-Item Wardrobe, which I may be lame enough to photograph. Can we get away with just carryon? Will Sarah freak out on the plane? At least we have direct flights . . .

I’ll also be posting that Circle of Chicken recipe I meant to do last week!

Have anything to share? Post it below!

One thought on “Happy Monday! Links to Make Your Day Brighter

Leave a Reply

