Happy Monday! Links to Make Your Day Brighter

RevivalHello, everyone! How were your weekends? I hope you had the same gorgeous weather we’ve been having here in the Pacific Northwest!

We scooted out of town (skipping Free Comic Book Day, which was really weird for me) to the Oregon coast with my folks. My plans were set: get a bunch of writing done, since my parents would be enjoying extra time with their granddaughter and Scott and Sid would be hitting the bike trails.

The reality? Scott came down with a cold, which was bad. But then my poor Mom woke up Saturday morning with what I had (and she nursed me through) last week–much, much worse. She didn’t leave her room in our gorgeous rental house in Manzanita and we all felt very bad for her.

However, my Dad and I did go on a bike ride with Sid (and Scott did a couple times as well), and I’ve got to say–I forgot how fun it was! And it was incredible for us to see Sid riding like he’s been doing it for years (it’s been just two weeks). My Dad got lots of Sarah time in the early morning, since she’s decided to start sleeping through the night–yay!–but wake up at 5 am or so–nooo!

Scotty was sweet enough to get up with her this morning so he could catch Mad Men before work, and I got to sleep in until the lovely hour of . . . 7:30 am. It really did feel luxurious. Having a baby changes frickin’ everything, amirite?!?

But enough about me: here are some links to entertain you this Monday morning:

Did you miss out on Free Comic Book Day? Not to worry: Things From Another World is extending FCBD through Friday! Not only will you save 20-50% on almost everything online, but you’ll get two special FCBD comics, free, with any in-stock purchase made by May 8 (while supplies last). Pro tip: since TFAW is the sister company of Dark Horse Comics, there’s a better-than-average chance that you’ll get the exclusive Fight Club 2 prequel!

Unsure of what to purchase? I have some suggestions:

  • Revival by Tim Seeley and Mike Norton is a fantastic choice if you’re a fan of small-town horror, The Walking Dead, and strong female characters. One day in a tiny Wisconsin town, the dead come back to life–not as zombies per se, but it’s still unsettling. As the outside world desperately tries to get in–is it the rapture?–Officer Dana Cypress must deal with getting to the bottom of the mystery, while the secrets and shadows of her small town threaten to boil over. The characters and storylines are tight, and Norton’s gorgeous, gory art makes this a must-read.
  • Abe Sapien by Mike Mignola, Scott Allie, Sebastian and Max Fiumara, and Dave Stewart. Full disclosure: I am married to Scott Allie (and, um, friends with Tim and Mike above), but I can stand behind this book without bias! If you’ve seen the Hellboy movies, you know something about the character of Abe Sapien, fish man. But he is so much more. In this series, he’s on the run from his former cohorts from the B.P.R.D., wandering an America that has been destroyed by monsters while trying to determine–is he one of them? And what will he become? It reads like one part parable, one part Alan Moore’s Swamp Thing.
  • The Art of Archie: The Covers. Everyone loves Archie–no, really. They do. This is an exquisitely produced book showcasing decades of classic art in a premium format, and it’s 40% off right now. This would be a great gift at any age. So get it!

In non-comics linkage, it’s Cinco de Mayo tomorrow! Here’s an easy taco filling recipe from Martha Stewart, and I’ll post my taco salad recipe this week to deal with the leftovers.

Finally, in nostalgia: I’ve really, really been missing my favorite soap, All My Children, so I’ve been watching old clips on YouTube. Here’s a classic clip of Erica Kane, world’s shortest supermodel, out-weirding a crazy homeless lady as she attempts to deliver a ransom to Billy Clyde Tuggle for her presumed-dead (eaten by sharks!) husband, Adam Chandler. There’s also a great bit by Christine Baranski (The Good Wife).

See you later this week!

Leave a Reply

