Happy Friday! Links (and Videos) to Make Your Day Brighter

Gardening

Future BLTs, pasta sauce, caprese salad, salsa . . . drool.

Happy Friday, bitches!!! Ahem. Excuse me. In a fit of early ’00s nostalgia, I’ve created and been listening to my Ja Rule station on Pandora this week. The crazy thing is, I wasn’t a particular fan of this music when it first played, but I worked at a restaurant/club that played it constantly, so it brings back a lot of good (and ridiculous) memories now.

As you can see by the picture above, I’m getting ready to plant! I finally got a community garden plot through the City of Portland this year: a 10′ x 20′ area that I’ll be filling with tomatoes, zucchini, kale, beets, etc. I’m going to keep track of all of my expenses and then estimate the market value of my yield to see if it’s actually worth it. However, the six tomato plants, three basil starts, and two squash seedlings pictured above came to a grand total of $19.60. Unless they all die, I should come out ahead.

If you’re thinking about creating your own garden (there’s still time, especially if you use starts instead of growing from seed), my Mom recommends the Garden Planner at Mother Earth News. It’s free for the first 30 days, and then $25 per year. I’m going to be playing with it and will review it in a future post!

I’ve still been chugging along in my Zero Waste efforts, but I’ve kind of come to a standstill. My stumbling blocks? Meat, cheese, and snacks. One of my husband’s favorite snacks is York Peppermint Patties, which I keep in the freezer for him. Of course, they’re individually packaged in plastic! So I’m checking out this Homemade Peppermint Patties Recipe and this Peppermint Patties Recipe from Epicurious. I like the roll-and-slice method in the first recipe, but I want to use real chocolate, like in the second recipe. I’ve never been particularly successful at tempering chocolate (bringing it to the proper temperature so it stays smooth and dark), so wish me luck!

In other Zero Waste news, Zero Waste Chef continues to knock it out of the park. Here, her Clear-Out-the-Fridge Frittata offers a delicious way to use up leftover vegetables, cheese, meat, etc. It’s the same principle behind my “Free” French Vegetable Soup. Recipes are a wonderful way to learn how to cook and make delicious dishes, but it’s even better to learn how to cook without recipes (or have loose ones as a guide), to use up all your scraps, and eat even more awesome food! Reduce waste, save money, eat well!

Have you seen the six-minute trailer for CBS’s upcoming Supergirl television show? Here:

While it is pretty funny that there are some parallels to Saturday Night Live‘s Black Widow trailer parody, I’m hopeful. The bumbling-hero-with-glasses is a Superfamily tradition, and by showing Kara’s journey from fumbling and vulnerable to superheroic, the audience can relate to and experience her transformation as well. Plus! I’m kind of tickled to see Calista Flockhart. So we’ll see.

What else? DUDE. Everyone is talking about the new Mad Max movie. I admit, this wasn’t really on my radar–seeing movies is difficult with the baby, and I, er, never really saw the originals (bad geek!), but the trailer does look awesome:

And for my final gift to you this Friday: as you probably already know, this Sunday is the final episode of Mad Men. My husband is quietly devastated and rewatching Season 7 before the big day. However, if you’re a fan of the show, you must check out the Mad Men With Things Drawn on Them Tumblr because it will blow your mind (check out Peggy below)!

Peggy Mad Men

You’ve come a long way, baby! Wait, is that sexist?!?

That’s what I’ve got–what do you got? Post your goodies below (no Mad Max spoilers)!

Leave a Reply

