Happy Monday! Links to Make Your Day Brighter

Hello and welcome to a new week! How was your weekend? I was a little worker bee, getting ready to celebrate my husband’s birthday (it was officially yesterday–see the cake, pictured) and get the house ready for guests: my sister-in-law and her boyfriend. Since we no longer have a guest room (that baby took it for her nursery!), we use our family room, which means a lot more cleaning and organizing was needed.

ScottBDayCake2015So before I get to links, I had a question: clearing out the family room showed me that we have a lot of baby proofing to do–and soon. Sarah is already rolling around everywhere. Does anyone have any advice/resources to share? I’m feeling a little overwhelmed. Of course I know to lock up all of the dangerous chemicals, but what are the most important things to keep in mind? What surprised you? I’d be grateful for any advice–post it below!

Pictures of Caitlyn Jenner, formerly known as Bruce Jenner, on the cover of Vanity Fair debuted today, and I’ve got to say–wow. She looks gorgeous and refined. Of course I knew she’d have great legs, as an Olympic athlete, but I’m so glad her transition has been handled with dignity and sensitivity. I’m finding her story really touching, and I think anyone can relate, on some level, to the challenges of embracing your true self.

On to recipes! I’ve got three to share from Scott’s family birthday party. One, the Mile-High Chocolate Cake With Vanilla Buttercream and Chocolate Glaze, from Baked: Elements. It wasn’t difficult to make, but it was a showstopper–and it will feed a lot of people.

Now, I am not a salad person, but my mother brought an incredible Mexican Chopped Salad, and I immediately demanded the recipe. It’s hearty and tasty, with beans, avocados, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, pepitas, and more. I’m keeping this one in my back pocket for when the weather gets really hot: with a little grilled shrimp, we’ll have a satisfying and delicious dinner.

And finally, this Grilled Three-Potato Salad recipe is an old favorite: really yummy, and visually appealing with the Yukon gold, sweet, and purple potatoes (I’ve subbed red when I can’t find purple). Also great for hot weather, since you cook everything out on the grill.

Fight Club 2

Fight Club 2 #1 cover by David Mack.

On to the nerdy stuff! Fight Club 2 debuted last week from Chuck Palahniuk and Cameron Stewart, and the comics world went nuts for it! I can personally vouch for the series: it’s gonna be really, really good. But the AV Club has a nice writeup, too.

Three Wolverine Moon shirt at Rachel and Miles X-Plain the X-Men by Tyler Crook.

Everybody loves wolf shirts, right? What about . . . Wolverine shirts? Rachel and Miles X-Plain the X-Men have an epic Three Wolverine Moon shirt by the incredible Tyler Crook. It’s only available until July 1, 2015, so get on it!

That’s all I got for now! Hoping to post some more recipes as well as an article about how to decorate a nursery this week–see you around. And don’t forget to share your baby proofing tips! Help.

2 thoughts on “Happy Monday! Links to Make Your Day Brighter

  1. For baby-proofing, one of the best things to do is clear away any breakables on pretty much any horizontal surface. Oddly, my living room never looked so neat as when my kids were little (even my clutter-hating mom commented on it). I’m sure you’ll want to follow her around so she doesn’t whack her head. Check and see how her spatial awareness is; you may not need to pad every surface. Toilet locks are weird, and I’m not entirely convinced that they work–an intelligent child will only work harder to figure them out. That said, outlet plugs are a must, and make sure extension cords are neatly put away as well.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

