Happy Monday! Links to Make Your Day Brighter

Good morning, readers! Hope your weekends were fun and refreshing. I spent mine watering my pots. And watering my hydrangeas. And then watering my tomatoes and zucchini. And then starting again with the pots. Repeat. It is hot here in Portland, my friend–90 degrees yesterday, 93 degrees today. I feel like I could use some water myself!

This is the time of year when I wrack my brain for dinner recipes that are either no-cook, require minimal cooking, or can be made outside on the grill. I swear I will write a more involved post on this soon (for my own benefit, if nothing else), but one of my favorites is the Chilled Cucumber-Yogurt Soup from the New Moosewood Cookbook. Creamy, garlicky, tangy, and above all else: cold.

Special Edition NYC was this weekend! This is Reed’s completely comics-focused convention, and there were some interesting updates from Marvel: news that there will be no reboot, and a first look at interior pages of their upcoming Star Wars comic, Lando!

All-New All-Different Marvel

That’s clearly X-23 as the new Wolverine, right? Art by the fabulous David Marquez.

Speaking of Marvel, have you seen the incredible Marvel teaser images by Portland artist David Marquez (who will be the artist on Invincible Iron Man, with Brian Michael Bendis writing)? They look incredible, and CBR has a list of five upcoming All-New, All-Different Marvel series they need to read.

In other news, I have been invited by Ma’at Crook and Kel McDonald to guest on their live Google hangout/YouTube show, Ask Me About My Draculas, on June 21! Each episode, two people discuss something vampire or horror related that they’ve seen, while the third person, who hasn’t seen it, asks questions. I’m the asker. Past topics have been Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Lost Boys, Dead Like Me, and lots of other fun movies and shows, so it should be a blast!

Finally, as you probably already know, The X-Files has joined Twin Peaks and Coach (?!?) and will be returning for six more episodes! Empire has a list of the 20 Greatest X-Files Episodes. We’re rewatching episodes on Netflix and damn–I forgot how creepy and good it is, and also how pretty Gillian Anderson was (and is).

Okay, this is kind of skimpy–my apologies. It’s either a slow entertainment week for me, or my brain is fried from the heat–or both.

I have so many blog posts in my head, but I’ve only managed to type a couple each week. I’m going to try to remedy that this week, but perhaps I’ll list some ideas here:

  • How to Decorate a Baby Nursery, Even if You Suck at It
  • 5 Baby Things I Should Have Added to My Registry
  • Hot Weather Cooking
  • 10-Item Wardrobe: My Summer Items (to be mocked by my friend Caroline)
  • Comics That Changed My Life: Excalibur Special Edition
  • Why I Love Jessica Fletcher

If any are of particular interest, let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

