Happy Monday! Links to Make Your Day Brighter

Fight Like a Girl Cross Stitch SamplerHappy Monday! How was your Fourth of July? We had a big blowout, with 50+ people over for brunch, followed by a small block party that was interrupted by a tired baby. No fireworks for us, boo!

Cooking

Since I’ve been trying to avoid as much waste as practical for our family, I found a DIY Bisquick recipe that I used to make shortcakes for the brunch (I love Bisquick and much prefer it to “real” biscuits–don’t argue). It was easy and great! Now I just have to find shortening in bulk. Or maybe experiment with butter?

Since it’s been hot (in the upper 90s and climbing), I made sure all of the food for the brunch could either be make ahead of time, or on the grill. One of my favorite make-ahead dishes for almost any occasion is quiche–in a cookie sheet. Now, there isn’t a link here yet, but I promise to type up the recipe and link it up this week. Not only is this an easy, delicious recipe for a crowd, but you can use it to clear out your fridge. This weekend I made quiche with cherry tomatoes, white onions, and blue cheese. Patriotic!

Comics

This week is the big show: San Diego Comic Con! I’m missing it for the second year in a row, which is, I admit, bumming me out, but my friend Merrick put together this awesome Con Survival Guide! NOTE: Time for some real talk for the ladies. Ladies, bring tampons and pads. Even if you don’t usually wear pads. Even if you’re not expecting your period. SDCC is stressful, and the lines can be several hours long. Leaks are not your friends.

One organization I was always proud to work with is the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund, which supports free speech and offers legal assistance to comic book creators, retailers, fans, and more! One of the highlights of SDCC is the CBLDF’s welcome party and art auction. This year’s auction features original art by such luminaries as Charlie Adlard (The Walking Dead), Bill Sienkiewicz (New Mutants), Fábio Moon (Casanova), Gabriel Bá (Umbrella Academy), and Tyler Crook (Harrow County)!

Interested in the upcoming Supergirl TV show but confused by decades and decades of character history? The Mary Sue has put together an incredible Supergirl, Superwoman & Power Girl Historical Timeline.

Speaking of female superheroes, I spotted this Fight Like a Girl cross stitch sampler at Wee Little Stitches, and I couldn’t resist. Definitely making it for Sarah!

What’s up in your world? Post a comment below!

Leave a Reply

