Things I Forgot to Take Camping

Hey Elisabeth, remember us? No . . . ?

Hey Elisabeth, remember us? No . . . ?

Remember when I blogged about my compact, flexible 10-item camping wardrobe? It was pretty cool, right? I was super prepared for camping. I had checklists! But, at the end of the day, I forgot a couple of .  . . oh . . . minor items. Like my sneakers. And my razor.

Camping in sandals: not fun. There were socks involved. Forgetting my razor was less important (it was camping, after all), but even more frustrating, because I always forget my razor. How many disposables have I purchased over the years in convenience stores in San Diego, Seattle, Dayville? Dozens!

Well, I’ve had enough. From now on, I’m treating all travel like convention travel! I started with some pretty decent checklists, but I left off the things I thought were no-brainers. (Like decent shoes, and oh yeah–a sweatshirt or jacket for Sid. I am usually the jacket Nazi!)

So now I have a Travel Checklists folder in my documents. Right now I have a Camping Checklist and a Go-Bag Checklist of general essentials (you would not believe how much conditioner my husband needs). After each trip, while I’m doing laundry and unpacking, I’m going to review these checklists and add to them as needed.

As god is my witness, I will never be hairy agaiiiinnnnnnnn!

So, how did the camping/beach rental wardrobe go? Pretty good, although I’d make one change and swap the coral cardigan for another T-shirt. My chambray shirt pretty much fills the same purpose, and it would have been nice to have one extra shirt. Although I never wore the dress (we decided to skip dinner out and eat at the beach rental), I was glad to have it on hand just in case.

10 Item Wardrobe

Sorry coral cardigan, you’re outta here!

Do you have any travel tips or travails to add? Post them below!

Leave a Reply

