Happy Monday! Links to Make Your Day Brighter

Nap. STRIKE! The view as I type.

Nap. STRIKE! The view as I type.

Happy Monday! This post is last because Sarah has decided to go on a nap strike today. Late, short morning nap and no afternoon nap. Oh boy. She’s rattling around in her playpen while I type this up.

Entertaining

I was so sad last April when Jonathan Crombie, the actor who played Gilbert Blythe in Anne of Green Gables, died that I made a date for tea and to watch the movie with my friend Kari. Schedules being what they were, we finally were able to get together this Saturday. There was tea. There was raspberry cordial. There will be (someday) a blog post! In the meantime, here are some recipes from the Anne of Green Gables Cookbook.

I’m gearing up for my brother’s girlfriend’s baby shower this weekend! My Mom and I are having so much fun with this. We chose Tiffany blue, black, and white as the colors, along with pandas (my brother’s girlfriend’s favorite animal). While designing some of the tags and things, I came across a Tiffany font that’s pretty close to the real thing. I’ll be sure to take pictures and post them!

Our Twin Peaks dinner party was so much fun last May that we’ve decided to throw a Twin Peaks brunch in September! I can get a lot more people over for brunch than dinner (50+ versus 14), and there was a lot of breakfast food on the show.

The Twin Peaks revival on Showtime won’t arrive until 2007, but TVLine’s Twin Peaks Is Back: 14 Burning Questions Season 3 Must Address article should refresh your memory and pique your interest.

Zero Waste

I know, I know, I had a temper tantrum about this last week. But I’m still committed to reducing our waste. Thus far, I’ve only done curbside composting, but with our big new community garden plot, I might take Zero Waste Chef’s simple advice and just start throwing scraps on the ground outside!

In the same vein, school’s starting again soon, but my EasyLunchboxes are starting to break down after three years of constant use. Tempted by these stainless steel LunchBots at Life Without Plastic.

Comics

Oh my god, I am so far out the loop I didn’t even realize there was a Star-Lord and Kitty Pryde series coming out! Issue #2 is out this week, and I’m gonna hunt #1 down as well.

Speaking of comics, here’s a preview of Abe Sapien #25, with a quick word-association interview with the co-writer (and my husband) Scott Allie.

That’s all I got! I have so many blog posts in my brain but I need to send them out through my fingers and onto the Internet . . .

One thought on “Happy Monday! Links to Make Your Day Brighter

Leave a Reply

