Happy Monday! Links to Make Your Day Brighter

Happy Monday! After a rough wakeup at 4 am (thanks, Sarah), she and I slept in until the glorious hour of 8 am, which meant she skipped her morning nap (a.k.a. my writing time), so this post is late. But hopefully still welcome!

Events and Geekery

Felicia Day of Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog and Geek & Sundry is in Portland today, signing her new memoir, You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost), at 6 pm at the Cedar Hills Powell’s. In her book, Felicia details growing up geeky, complete with her addiction World of Warcraft, which inspired her hilarious web series, The Guild.

What, you’ve never watched The Guild? I have a link for you here. It’s charming and hilarious. In the meantime, watch Do You Wanna Date My Avatar, my favorite of her videos!

So. Many. Tomatoes.

Garden Time

Sid watering the garden!

We are swimming in tomatoes–we’re harvested more than 20 pounds so far! So my Mom and I will be canning my roma tomatoes tomorrow, and I’ll be using this water bath canning technique!

One of my favorite things to do with fresh, homegrown tomatoes is to make a simple sauce and serve it over spaghetti. I like this Fresh Tomato Sauce recipe from Martha Stewart, but I like to add fresh basil.

Parenting

Oh my god, I spotted this 23 Incredibly Helpful Charts For New Parents post on BuzzFeed the other day–wish I had these handy oh, 10 months ago when Sarah was born! Read them, save them, live them!

That’s what I’ve got. I’m currently writing some stuff about the end of summer break and beginning of the school year–tune in later this week!

Leave a Reply

