Happy Monday! Rose City Comic Con and Nasal Aspiration

Rachel and Miles X-Plain the X-Men Meetup ECCC 2015Happy Monday! How was your weekend? We had a last gasp of hot weather, but my plans to take advantage of this and read Archie Digests while eating Dairy Queen soft serve (two summer activities I had not partaken of this year) were derailed by multiple birthday parties. However, both birthday parties were fun, and one had a dinosaur cake. So there.

Let’s get it going!

Babies

First: I don’t think I’ve talked about it much here, but my brother Beej is having a baby with his girlfriend this week and I am so excited. This reminds me that I never posted pictures of their baby shower, which I will rectify this week. So . . . this isn’t a link at present, more like a promise of a future link. That’s silly. Okay, here’s a picture of some of the favors my mom and I made!

Boy Baby Shower Mustache Tiffany Theme

Blue nail polish, mustache chocolates, and mustache soap!

In useful-yet-gross parenting skills, I learned how to use a nasal aspirator today. Sarah’s had a horrific runny nose and was snorting (and having trouble sleeping), so I watched the following video:

The verdict: Sarah hated it, it was incredibly gross, and . . . it worked! Oh my god so much snot. It was pretty funny. But don’t do it more that two or three times a day.

Comics

This weekend is Rose City Comic Con, one of my favorite comic book conventions–and it just happens to take place right here in Portland!

I cannot recommend this convention enough, as both an attendee and exhibitor. It’s been so fun to watch it grow over the past three years. It has a lot of things for kids and mainstream comics and pop culture fans, but it’s also a great place to meet local creators and publishers. Guests this year include Carrie Fisher (Leia from Star Wars, in case you just left a bomb shelter), Walter Koenig and Nichelle Nichols from Star Trek, Wil Wheaton, Caroll Spinney (Big Bird!!!!), and many more.

My previous employer, Things From Another World, will be throwing a gigantic Rose City Comic Con Kickoff Party this Friday with complimentary food and beer! This is always a really fun event, plus you can skip the lines at the convention and turn in your tickets for badges at the party. While drinking beer! Win-win.

Also: the hosts of my favorite podcast, Rachel & Miles X-Plain the X-Men, will both be conducting a live episode at the convention, and hosting an after-hours meetup away from the Convention Center. Their last meetup at Emerald City Comicon was so much fun (I’ve posted a picture of me and Sarah, above), so I’m really hoping I can get over there.

Finally, I spotted this amazing comic about LEGOs and gender by M. Patrinos of Seasonal Depression on Facebook and it really spoke to me:

lego-girls-comic-01I have a longer rant about LEGOs in me somewhere, stay tuned . . .

Leave a Reply

