Happy Wednesday! True Parent, Flaxseed Banana Muffins & Failure

Me hamming it up at the Rose City Comic Con Rachel & Miles Meetup!

Happy . . . Wednesday! I’ve been battling a cold, so yesterday morning’s usual blog post was postponed until now. Hopefully it will be worth the wait!

Read Me Elsewhere

I’m so excited to announce that I wrote an article for True Parent magazine, an offshoot of the Portland Mercury, titled “Taking Yourself out of the Game” about leaving the comics industry and becoming a stay-at-home mom at 40. Regular readers know I’ve been struggling with this (“I Need a New Title“)–although I love staying home with the kids, I do miss working and feel a bit . . . diminished.

Anyway, writing about my experiences has been really therapeutic for me, and I’d like to thank Wm. Steven Humphrey for green-lighting my article and giving it his editorial polish. Read it and tell me what you think!

Comics and Geekery

I had a wonderful time this weekend at Rose City Comic Con–although I still barely know what to do with myself as an attendee, rather than an exhibitor. The first thing I did was find the TFAW booth–it still feels like home.

Sarah and I didn’t spend more than a couple of hours on the floor, but we did get a peek at Carol Spinney–the man behind Big Bird–and I caught up with a bunch of old friends.

The highlight, however, was definitely the Rachel & Miles X-Plain the X-Men listener meetup at the Steep and Thorny Way to Heaven, a delightfully dark and atmospheric underground bar and performance space here in Portland. Rachel Edidin and Miles Stokes host a brilliant, insightful, fast-paced podcast exploring every nook and cranny of the X-Men, and their devotion was on display–literally–in the form of an incredible “Wanted” piece from the cover of Uncanny X-Men #141 (part of Days of Future Past), created by Rachel and artist David Wynne and pictured above. It was truly magnificent in person!

But where there are highs, there must be lows. I was profoundly affected by writer Michael Moreci’s (Hoax Hunters) post, “On Failure” and I’d love to get your take on it. He talks about his struggles with failure–both real and perceived–in an intelligent and bracing fashion that was really soothing. I felt like I was letting go of a breath I’ve held for 20+ years while reading it.

Food

This Banana Wheat Muffin recipe from 100 Days of Real Food has been my go-to for breakfast this year, but I’ve discovered an awesome variation! I was out of whole wheat flour, so I used white flour and swapped out 1/2 cup of it for flax meal. They were awesome. Flaxseed provides fiber, protein, and can supposedly help eczema, among other things. Plus: tasty.

In other news: I’m an aunt! My brother and his girlfriend had their baby boy, and he’s so cute! I’m working on a post for their baby shower, so watch for it this week!

Leave a Reply

