Quality Clothes?!?

10 Item Wardrobe Silk Trouve BlouseHey everyone! Sorry for the unexpected hiatus. I have a ton of ideas rattling around–half-finished posts about my brother’s baby shower and Anne of Green Gables as a feminist tome, as well as recipes, but right now I want to ask you about quality clothes: where the heck do you find them?

A couple years ago I decided it was time to class it up and bought some blouses. Like a lady. My favorite was a silk blouse I got at Nordstrom on sale. It was perfect. I wore it until I was six months pregnant!

Anyway, I was wearing it out to lunch yesterday (because it’s the perfect item to wear for any occasion), when my friend pointed out … a small hole in the back, where the sleeve meets the body of the garment.

I went to mend it last night, but as soon as I saw it, I knew my blouse’s days were numbered. The silk was shredded. I did a quick fix by hand, but I’m only stalling the inevitable.

Ugh! On the one hand, I’ve had this blouse for two years and I’ve gotten a lot of wear out of it. On the other, I was hoping it would last for five years!

Do I have unrealistic expectations, or should I be looking at other brands? The blouse was by Trouve.

Dear readers: recommendations? Do you have brands or items of clothing that have stood the test of time? Please enlighten me!

Leave a Reply

