My Kitchen Is a Phoenix

 

I’m losing a cabinet, but gaining an oven. I’m. So. Excited.

 No school for Sid and it’s the last day before my kitchen is out of commission for a couple days, so he and Sarah are supervising while I make spaghetti sauce and toast panko for chicken cutlets. I’ll probably (shh) make some cinnamon rolls, too–I like to have coffee and pastries ready when we have folks working on the house.

Yes, folks, it’s a very special time in my life: my first kitchen remodel. The counter tile over the dishwasher started falling off this summer, so we’re getting new countertops.

But. Even more exciting: I’m getting a second oven. My lifelong dream! Our current setup is a wall oven, and then a rangetop over an IKEA cabinet. We’re gonna rip out that cabinet, slide in a regular gas stove/oven, and then I’ll be able to host Thanksgiving (or bake twice as many cookies at a time) whenever I want! Yay!

Tomorrow the guys are coming to rip out our present countertops and cabinet, and Joel Lonborg (an amazing guy who has done all the work on the house for us, including when our basement flooded right before Memorial Day weekend 2013) warned me that I won’t be able to cook or do dishes for a couple days.

I don’t really know what those words mean–I can tell it’s a sentence, but my brain won’t comprehend it? But I see sushi in my future.

Anyway: here’s a shot of our kitchen now (our backsplash was removed so the counter guys could make a template), and I’ll post pics as we go forward. Also, if you live in the Portland/Vancouver area, I can’t recommend Joel and his company, All in One Restoration and Maintenance, enough. They’re talented, knowledgeable, trustworthy, and do great work.

3 thoughts on “My Kitchen Is a Phoenix

Leave a Reply

