Happy Monday! Horror Movies and Maureen O’Hara

Maureen O'Hara

Don’t tell me what to do, Mitch!

Happy Monday! Hope your weekend was relaxing and/or productive. I spent mine finally slipcovering the post in our basement (I’ll post photos when it’s finished). My folks covered it in foam to baby proof it oh, about . . . six months ago? Yes, I suck. But I suck more because I put the batting on it a month ago, so baby Sarah has been trying to grab handfuls of it for months while I kept forgetting to go buy an upholstery needle. Today is the day, my friends!

Are you ready for Halloween? I have two costumes half finished, both of which are halfway inappropriate for a 40-year-old woman, but I’ve decided this might be my last hurrah: nursing has left me skinny with boobs, I’ll surely never look like this again.

On to our links!

Movies

Looking to watch some horror flicks to get into the Halloween spirit? Check out 20 Netflix Horror Movies Worth Watching.

Want to experience a different type of horror? Maureen O’Hara, an amazing, spirited actress, died this week, so I wanted to watch one of her movies. I found McLintock! on Hulu, and holy father of the patriarchy! That is an unpleasant film, especially the end, where O’Hara’s character–a women who left her husband because he cheated on her–is chased through town while her dress ripped off, while the whole town cheers (including her daughter), until her husband catches her and spanks her! In public! With a coal shovel! And then she has to chase him down and hop on the back of his buggy to get home. Yeahhhh. I should’ve broken my rule and watched A Miracle on 34th Street instead.

I wanted to watch the original Parent Trap, but it’s not available for streaming anywhere–yet, that is. Turns out Disney will launch their own subscription-based service (in Europe, but likely also in the US), and yes, I’ll probably pony up!

How Not to Behave

If you want to learn how not to behave in a restaurant, or want to commiserate with fellow restaurant employees, make sure to read Behind Closed Ovens on Kitchenette every Monday morning. This week’s entry, More of the World’s Worst Restaurant Customers, Part 2, made my blood boil in a satisfying way.

In honor of fall and delicious cold-weather food, I’ll be posting my Grandma Forsythe’s famous spaghetti sauce recipe later today–keep your eyes peeled!

Leave a Reply

