Happy Monday! Go Speed Racer, Gilmore Girls Fashion & More

Kitchen Refresh

I’ve got two two ovens and a microphone.

Happy Monday! How was Halloween? I had one great costume that totally worked out and one secret costume that I a) couldn’t finish in time and b) decided I didn’t want to wear out anyway, because it was pouring down rain, even for Oregon. The streets (and many of my friends’ basement) flooded like you wouldn’t believe.

I don’t know if the secret costume will ever come to light, but I’ll post of pic of my cheetah costume (courtesy of American Apparel–simple! Comfy!) here.

Cheetah Costume

Warm, covered, super comfy–even the boots!

Important Life Stuff

My good friend J. Rachel Edidin (half of the genius behind Rachel & Miles X-Plain the X-Men, former editor at Dark Horse Comics, and writer for WiredPlayboyKotakuComics Alliance, and more) made the brave and joyous announcement that xe is trans, complete with an incredible Speed Racer costume and a delightful article in which Jay imagines a trans Speed Racer movie.

Full disclosure: when writing the above paragraph, I caught myself using gendered pronouns. To me (and I think to a lot of people), learning the respectful way to refer to and support our transgender friends and family is still undercharted territory. Fortunately, Jay is clear, direct, and kind–plus, I found the Gender Neutral Pronoun Blog, which also helped. “Xe” is a gender-neutral alternative to she or he!

Home Improvement

My kitchen update is pretty much done, yay! To recap: new counter tops, new tile backsplash, new oven, and a new faucet. The color change for the backsplash (black to white) necessitated that we swap out our plugs and switches, too. It looks great, and All in One Restoration and Maintenance did a great job. Now, of course, I’m looking at the rest of the kitchen and thinking, hmm. To continue the spruce up, I’m going to paint the walls and trim and update the cabinet hardware. And scrub the bejeezus out of the floor. I’ll do a full blog post soon.

Entertainment and Fashion

Did you know Gilmore Girls is coming back, via four 90-minute Netflix movies? And that each will center around a season: Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall? I’m excited and hoping that the series will finally get the send-off it deserves (or if it’s super-successful, that we’ll get more movies).

I’m hoping it feels like old-school GG, but The Muse is hoping for one big change: a new costumer. They hate the costumes. I don’t really agree, but I love the watercolor paintings in this article!

One thought on “Happy Monday! Go Speed Racer, Gilmore Girls Fashion & More

Leave a Reply

