Yes You Have Time for Breakfast: French Toast

Easy French Toast

Yes you can eat French toast for breakfast!

Breakfast is not my strong point. When my then-boyfriend (and now husband) and I moved in together with his son (now our son), I despaired at the idea of making breakfast for a family. I didn’t have time for breakfast! I didn’t like breakfast (although I am amazing at brunch). But. I also couldn’t send a kid to school without a good meal. So I have learned that there are lots of quick, tasty ways to eat a good breakfast, and I’ll share them with you.

French toast! It sounds and looks fancy (ooh, la la), but it’s not only a super-easy dish to make in the morning, it’s also a problem solver that answers the question, “What do I do with this leftover stale bread?” Slice it, dunk it, butter it, drench it in syrup–boom! You can have this on the table in 15 minutes or less.

This recipe is based on the Pioneer Woman’s French Toast With Berry Butter, but halved, and with cinnamon and no fancy berry butter. I will make her recipe some day, because it sounds fantastic, but this is my delicious, fast, easy, go-to version:

Cinnamon French Toast

You need:

1 cup half-and-half (or milk, or egg nog*)
1 large egg
1 egg yolk
1/2 Tablespoon sugar
Dash cinnamon
Dash vanilla
Stale bread: I usually use one-inch slices of leftover baguettes, artisan bread, etc. This recipe works best with slightly stale, crusty bread.

Heat an electric grill or large nonstick pan over medium-high heat. Whisk half-and-half, egg and yolk, sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla together in a small shallow bowl. (*If using egg nog, omit sugar and vanilla.)

Dip your bread in the egg batter, letting it absorb the mixture and turning as needed. Place on your hot electric grill or pan and let brown for 3-5 minutes per side, until nicely colored.

Top with butter and warm maple syrup, and eat! Serves 4-6.

What’s your favorite quick breakfast recipe? I need them!

One thought on “Yes You Have Time for Breakfast: French Toast

Leave a Reply

