(Not So) Happy Monday! David Bowie & Geeky Stuff

David Bowie Rolling Stone

Photo courtesy of Rolling Stone.

Hey guys. I woke up to the sad news that David Bowie passed away. It doesn’t seem fair that such a prolific, talented, and unique musician died of cancer at 69.

He was an artist to the end, releasing his final album, Blackstar, just a few days ago. His final–haunting–video, “Lazarus,”is a goodbye letter to his fans. Watch it:

He knew he was dying when he made this. Chills.

Phew! So, any other links will probably seem trivial now, but let’s dig in:

Geeky Stuff

I’ve been invited to guest host my favorite podcast, Rachel & Miles X-Plain the X-Men, for a second time! I am so thrilled to team up with Miles again (particularly the stuff we get to cover this time out) and so psyched to nerd out! Make sure to catch up on episodes with Jay (formerly Rachel) and Miles in the meantime; my episode will air January 31st.

What’s your favorite comic of 2015? Fight Club 2? Ladykiller? Bitch Planet? Silver Surfer? Vote for the best comic of 2015 over at the Things From Another World Facebook page and let your voice be heard! Voting ends January 14.

Other Year-End Stuff

Despair in the Afternoon just posted their annual Year of Suck in Review for General Hospital and it is hilarious. A must-read for anyone who’s ever enjoyed (or hate-watched) a soap.

I spent this weekend revamping my monthly meal-planning spreadsheets and did the vast majority of my grocery shopping yesterday. I’ll be posting my method for anyone’s who’s interested tomorrow. Feedback is more than welcome!

Yikes! I’m way behind the curve, but I finally got The Girl on the Train from the library last week, and I read it in 24 hours–and it kind of messed me up for a bit! It’s a murder mystery told through three very unreliable, flawed narrators. Rachel, the main character, is a complete train wreck, and not in a sexy way. She’s a divorced, pathetic alcoholic who has been fired from her job, but who’s still fixated on her ex-husband (who’s remarried with a child) and a married couple she’s never met, but whose lives she’s imagines as she passes their house on the train every day. When the wife disappears, Rachel–half out of an impulse to help, half just to be important to someone–involves herself in the case.

There will–of course–be a movie, and a glamorous movie actress–of course (Emily Blunt)–will be playing Rachel, who in the book is constantly described as fat, unattractive, and clumsy. Sigh.

That’s what I’ve got this week–anyone have any book recommendations? I need to build up my library queue!

Leave a Reply

