Happy Monday! X-Plain the X-Men & More

GeekCraft Expo

Wait–are GMOs the mutants of food?!? Geeky lunch boxes, photo via GeekCraft Expo.

Happy Monday, everyone! Did you have a great weekend? Mine was packed full of White Elephant and birthday parties (I celebrated my 41st) and talking about the X-Men. You know the usual.

Let’s get on to links!

Nerdy Entertainments

As Jay Rachel Edidin is out of town, I was asked to guest host my favorite podcast, Rachel & Miles X-Plain the X-Men, again with Miles Stokes! As you may remember, I subbed in last year for Rachel & Miles X-Plain the X-Men #47, where Miles and I talked about the Alpha Flight/X-Men crossover! In our upcoming episode, airing January 31, we chat about Pryde of the X-Men, Marvel’s failed 1989 X-Men cartoon pilot, as well as the spinoff arcade game, which we played in its entirety over at Ground Kontrol Classic Arcade.

You can watch Pryde of the X-Men (which is surprisingly solid, although Wolverine inexplicably has an Australian accent) on YouTube:

I was going to wait until an official announcement was made, but I figured I’ll let you guys in on a gig I’ve taken: I’m the Event Coordinator for GeekCraft Expo PDX, working with Daniel Way (Deadpool, Gun Theory) and his fabulous team to bring a handmade, curated, geeky craft fair to Portland! It will be at the Lloyd Center Doubletree June 11-12, it is free to the public, and I’m very excited about it.

Lest you think this is a strictly Portland event, rest assured that GeekCraft Expo is in 15 other cities in the US and Canada, including Austin, Honolulu, Toronto, and more. Make sure to check out their website to find nerdy, cool, unique stuff near you!

I am obsessed with Fargo Season Two and Tom and Lorenzo’s fashion analyses of the episodes. Their interpretations of the colors and fashions that characters are wearing–and what it says about them, and what will happen in the story–are incredibly engrossing. Their Mad Style posts for Mad Men were epic, too.

This week, I’ll be updating you on my Monthly Meal Planning efforts (spoiler: I planned too many meals so far) and my winter 10-item wardrobe! Also: I will be paying tribute to my Geek Mentors, starting with my cousin Danny. Get ready!

 

Leave a Reply

