The Final Countdown: Rapid Mac Cooker

I am not exaggerating when I say I am famous for my Kraft Macaroni & Cheese. Among people who know me. I love it. I eat it. And I make the best Kraft Macaroni & Cheese anyone has ever tasted. It made me both a super-popular babysitter and a welcome sight at late-night parties. You’re jealous, aren’t you?

Ahem. But this post isn’t about my fantastic, extraordinary Kraft skills. My good friend Chris gave me a Rapid Mac Cooker (two of them!) for my birthday, so I decided to take it for a spin. It says it takes five minutes to make a box of mac and cheese–with no straining or draining. We’ll just see about that:

0:00

Rapid Mac Cooker

Minute zero: the mac is in the cooker with the water poured up to the line.

2:30

RapidMac3

Minute 2:30: time to stir!

4:30

RapidMac4

Minute 4:30: the mac and cheese should be cooked and ready to go! It is not. I add another 1/2 cup of water and put it back in the microwave.

6:30

RapidMac5

Minute 6:30: the macaroni is still not ready. Two more minutes!

8:30

Rapid Mac Cooker

Minute 8:30: I used the second Rapid Mac Cooker to make the sauce (I do NOT throw the sauce ingredients on top of the noodles). Milk and butter!

9:30

Rapid Mac Cooker

Minute 9:30: with the cheese and butter melted, I add two slices of Kraft American cheese and about one ounce of shredded sharp cheddar.

10:00

Rapid Mac Cooker

Minute 10:00: the cheese sauce is ready for the mac!

10:30

Rapid Mac Cooker.

Minute 10:30: get that mac in there! The water had mostly evaporated, leaving a weird gelatinous coating on the noodles.

11:00

RapidMac11

Minute 11:00: all stirred up and ready to go. I added a lot of extra milk. I usually have to, due to the extra cheese, but the weird gelatinous quality made it even thicker than normal.

11:30

Rapid Mac Cooker

Minute 11:30: plated and ready for my mouth.

The final verdict: this gets a C, due to the inconsistently cooked noodles (parts were fully cooked, parts were . . . not) and the aforementioned gelatinous goo. Plus, it only saved me five minutes or so.

But what if I don’t have a stove? Frankly, I’ve made perfectly fine Kraft Macaroni & Cheese in a hot pot or even an electric kettle, so give the Rapid Mac Cooker a thumbs down and save your money–and your tastebuds!

Leave a Reply

