In Memoriam: Clothes I Have Loved (to Pieces)

I meant to post a winter 10-item wardrobe by now. I really did! Since I discovered Jennifer L. Scott‘s concept of the 10-item wardrobe, I’ve felt better dressed, I’ve found it’s much easier to get dressed in the morning, and–most importantly–I’ve been able to close all my dresser drawers with ease. So what’s stopped me?

Unfortunately, after several years of service, I’ve had to retire some key pieces. And while I was able to replace most of them, I’ve been looking for that perfect, goes with (and over) everything sweater, and I just haven’t found it.

So I have a 9-item wardrobe, and it just doesn’t feel right to post about that (oh my stars and garters!). However, hope springs eternal: I have something arriving from Etsy on Monday, a vintage Scottish fisherman’s sweater that I found at a reasonable price. Fingers crossed.

But while you wait with bated breath (as I no doubt you are, my Public!) to see my Very Important Wardrobe, I wanted to pay tribute to those items that earned their just rewards this winter. Ahem.

10 Item Wardrobe Lobster Grey Skinny Jeans

Grey Gap jeans.

Ehh, I don’t feel so bad about these. They were cheap, I wore them for at least four years. Next!

10 Item Wardrobe Lobster Sweater J Crew

Lobster sweater, J Crew Factory.

This one was a toughie. You seemed a little expensive when I bought you three years ago, lobster sweater, but the moment I saw you, I knew you would be mine. I washed you in a mesh bag and laid you flat to dry until the very end–when I saw the tiny pinprick holes near your bottom hem. Rest in peace.

10 Item Wardrobe Blue Skinny Jeans

Citizens for Humanity jeans.

Both this and my black Citizens for Humanity jeans have been demoted–after only two years–after I noticed the fabric has “sprung” across the front hip area. The stretch fabric is permanently puckered. However, I blame myself: I wore them until nearly my fourth month of pregnancy, and I squeezed myself back into them about a month too soon after giving birth. My bad. They’re now emergency backup jeans.

10 Item Wardrobe Silk Trouve Blouse

Trouve silk blouse.

Man, so many of my favorite clothes fell apart this year! This was another item that only lasted about two years, but again, I wore it until my fifth or sixth month of pregnancy. Which is probably why the silk shredded in the back, near the armhole. I’ve mended it, but I’m going to have to let it go soon.

10-Item Wardrobe Grey Hooded Sweater

Remain long wool-blend sweater.

This is the one that really hurt. My Mom bought me this sweater for Christmas five years ago, I believe? It quickly became my very, very favorite item of clothing. It went with everything and was so comfy–like wearing a blanket! I desperately tried to keep it going. I de-pilled it. I dry cleaned it. I darned at least two holes! But one day, I caught a look at myself in a full-length mirror while wearing it, and shuddered. That poor sweater was a scraggly, worn-out shadow of its former self and needed to be euthanized.

If time travel were possible, some people would try save President Kennedy from assassination. Me? I’d buy a few more of those sweaters. Sigh.

Do you have irrational attachments to clothing? Post a comment below!

4 thoughts on “In Memoriam: Clothes I Have Loved (to Pieces)

  1. I too had a fave sweater. I wore it a lot and by its end you could totally see that I did! I too caught sight of myself wearing it and almost gasped out loud. Oh the memories we shared. I actually have it still. Not what you think … Hahaha. I am going to use it as a template to make another. Then it goes as bedding for my faithful furry four legged friends. Cute post! Love your writing! Have a great weekend! Koko:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

