Yes You Have Time for Breakfast: Greek Yogurt With Granola

GreekYogurt

Greek yogurt with honey and granola: breakfast in less than two minutes.

Hey everybody! You know the drill: breakfast is the most important meal of the day, yadda yadda. You know what I like to do in the morning? Sleep. I never used to eat breakfast, until I moved in with my husband and now stepson, and quickly realized I needed to feed us fast, every day. So now I’ll share my secrets with you! At least the ones about breakfast.

Greek yogurt with honey and granola is my go-to at least once a week. It literally takes less than two minutes to get it together for all four of us (although I just use jam for Sid and Sarah). Plain, full-fat Greek yogurt is packed full of protein and calcium, plus the live cultures are great for your gut. In fact, yogurt is one of the few “live” foods we commonly eat in our processed food culture.

Granola can be more of a mixed bag: it can be as sugary as a candy bar. I use Pamela Salzman’s excellent granola recipe. Not only is it delicious, but it uses maple syrup and honey as sweeteners (which at least sounds better to me) and includes nuts, seeds, and dried fruit for fiber and nutrients.

Now you do not need to make your own granola. Don’t stress out! There are plenty of excellent options at the grocery store–you can even find it in the bulk section in many stores.

This is so simple I feel silly posting a recipe, but here’s my method and proportions, at least:

Greek Yogurt With Honey and Granola

Serves 1
You need:

1/2 cup full-fat Greek yogurt (don’t be afraid–you need enough calories to get you going, plus, the whole low-fat diet is probably a crock)
1/2 teaspoon honey
1/4 cup granola of your choice

I use a 2 oz spring-loaded scoop (two scoops per bowl)–it’s fast, makes the plate look good, and makes portioning out the yogurt easy. Drizzle with honey, top with granola. Done! It took you longer to read this recipe than it will to make. I substitute my own jam for the granola and honey for the kids.

Serve with a piece of fruit!

What’s your favorite go-to breakfast? Post below!

Leave a Reply

