Happy Tuesday! Comics, Comics, Comics

Betty and Veronica Adam Hughes

Betty and Veronica, by Adam Hughes. Image from Bleeding Cool.

Hey all! How was your weekend? I took a crazy one-day trip to Emerald City Comicon to chat with people about GeekCraft Expo PDX and to see some friends. It was awesome–more so because two friends hitched a ride with me. It is infinitely preferable to spend two to three hours talking about movies, TV, and childhood experiences while driving to Seattle. Woo!

So as you can imagine, I’ve got lots of comics news:

Comics

The proofs of the Fight Club 2 hardcover are here, and it is gorgeous (I got a peek because my husband, Scott Allie, edited the book). Chuck Palahniuk wrote a beautiful little tribute to the creative team, and hinted about what’s coming next. Gosh, what could it be . . . ?

Jessica Jones Michael Gaydos

Jessica Jones by Michael Gaydos. Image courtesy Michael Perlman.

It’s like my favorite comic book publishers are trying to make all my dreams come true! One example: there’s going to be a new Jessica Jones series by the original creative team, Brian Michael Bendis, Michael Gaydos, and David Mack. Brian Michael Bendis is, of course, the choice for the writer, but I’m so please that Gaydos is returning. His take on Jessica is so distinctive and definitive–I love it. And David Mack is perfection. If you haven’t already, check out the original series, Alias, and the followup, The Pulse.

But wait! There’s more! Archie Comics’ new Adam Hughes Betty and Veronica series, which was announced last May, will hit comic shops in July. Adam Hughes’ “good girl” art is legendary, and the prospect of him doing interior art in addition to covers? This is a can’t-miss series. I’m also looking forward to the variant covers by Stephanie Buscema, Cliff Chiang, Veronica Fish, Francesco Francavilla, and Chip Zdarsky.

“But enough of these johnny-come lately artists,” you say? Fear not: longtime Archie writer/artist Dan Parent is debuting Life With Kevin with J. Bone this June, starring an adult Kevin. This will be a digital-first series, but I’m happy to see the Archie “house” style alive and well in any format!

Picnics

Well that was a change of topic! But relevant to my life. Sid has joined a baseball team and has two games per week–one on the weekend in the morning, one during a weekday evening. During the dinner hour. So I’m taking this as an opportunity to make fun picnics!

Up first: this salami caprese pasta salad, with grilled asparagus and corn muffins (pro tip: these are all leftovers). I have seven more to plan–I’ll take pics and post recipes in case you need ideas this summer.

Books

I am overloaded with books. Seriously. I have like eight library books right now, because I put titles on hold online on a whim, and then they all arrive at the Belmont branch willy nilly. However! I highly recommend reading Sex and Shopping: Confessions of a Nice Jewish Girl, the autobiography of Scruples author Judith Krantz, because it is a delightful look into a certain kind of liberated woman I had no idea existed in the late ’40s-early ’50s. Really. Plus, I discovered how many of her bonkers books came right from her real life. I mean, this is a woman who rubbed shoulders with Richard Avedon and Barbara Walters before (and while) they were stars!

That’s all I have for today. Reader, you have no idea what else I’m up to! But you will. Very soon. (Those last three lines were a tribute to dear Judith.)

Leave a Reply

