Happy Monday! So Much Geek Stuff

GrandmaSarah

I love this picture of my Mom and Sarah!

Hello everyone! How was your weekend? Did you celebrate Mother’s Day? I had a lovely day–I got to sleep in while Scott dressed and fed Sarah and took her for a walk, and then we met up with family for brunch. You know it was a serious brunch because they had cocktail shrimp and, yes, I ate a lot of them.

Guys, there’s so much geeky stuff going on–both in general and for me personally. I’m actually missing seeing Captain America: Civil War this weekend because I have a geeky craft meetup I’m organizing the same day. The mind boggles! But let’s get to it:

Geeky Stuff

Where to begin? GeekCraft Expo PDX–a curated, handmade geeky craft show–is coming to Portland June 11-12 at the DoubleTree Portland. The Facebook event is here. The website (listing 15 other GeekCraft Expos in the US and Canada) is here. All exhibitors are pre-qualified to exhibit as makers at Rose City Comic Con 2017 (while space allows). The extended deadline to apply is May 17!

To celebrate, we’re hosting another GeekCraftUp at SCRAP PDX, an amazing nonprofit organization that accepts craft materials donations and is committed to be creativity and recycling! We’re meeting from 4-7 pm May 14 (this is why I’m missing Civil War, dear readers), and every attendee will receive a bright yellow Avatar: The Last Airbender reusable bag from Dark Horse Comics with a couple of goodies inside (while supplies last), plus we’ll have some amazing raffle prizes, including a print signed by Hellboy creator (and recent Grand Master Award winner from Spectrum) Mike Mignola!

Mysterious GeekCraft Expo-related event TBA! Could it be a kickoff party (it might be a kickoff party)? Might it be at a super cool location (yes) with awesome music, (uh huh) prizes (of course), and more? Stay tuned for our announcement!

In other news, Jay & Miles X-Plain the X-Men have finally reached my X-Men comics entry point, Inferno (the Madelyne Pryor stuff)! I cannot wait to listen to this week’s episode. My only complaint is I cannot do anything else (like type) while listening to them–their program is so dense (in the best way) and full of trivia, insights, and sheer passion!

Also, The Doubleclicks, Portland’s geek-flavored folk-rock sister duo, are leaving on a giant summer tour beginning in June, gracing 28 towns and two countries with their sweet-yet-snarky tunes.

Phew! That’s all I’ve got for today. Stay tuned for more fun stuff this week!

Leave a Reply

