My Mom’s Famous Spinach Dip

Every time I throw a party, my lovely, thoughtful mother asks what she can bring, and I always say, “A vegetable platter would be great!” This is for two reasons: one, my mom makes a beautiful vegetable platter–the way she cuts and arranges the veggies is gorgeous. Two, she always makes her famous spinach dip, which everyone loves. It’s rich and creamy and zesty and fresh-tasting, plus the spinach lets you feel healthy.

My mom wants to make sure I tell you it’s from Cookery for Entertaining by Marlene Sorosky. The book is out of print, but that cover is etched in my memory for all time. One day I will make that watermelon whale! Ahem. Back to the recipe.

My Mom’s Famous Spinach Dip

Makes 3 1/2 cups

1 pint sour cream
1 cup mayonnaise
3/4 package Knorr dry leek soup mix, about ½ cup (I always use the whole thing)
1 (10-oz.) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and well-drained
1/2 cup chopped parsley
1/2 cup chopped green onions
1 teaspoon dry dill
1 teaspoon dry Italian salad dressing mix

In a food processor fitted with the metal blade, combine all ingredients until blended. Refrigerate until ready to serve, or up to two days. Serve dip with assorted raw vegetables.

This truly is a superb dip, perfect for veggies, crackers, bread, or your fingers. Don’t ask how I know the last one. Make it for your next party!

One thought on “My Mom’s Famous Spinach Dip

Leave a Reply

