Help Me Make a Christmas Dress

scan-26

Look at Beej! We are adorable. Christmas in Tualatin, circa 1979. Oh I just noticed we matched the tree skirt!

Christmas! Like many kids, I grew up loving Christmas. The whole season seemed magical: learning songs in school, making paper-chain advent calendars. Soon after Thanksgiving, my Mom would transform the house into a winter wonderland, bringing out treasured decorations–many of which she had made herself–and she always had new projects going on. The late ’70s-early ’80s was the height of the “dough art” craze, and my Mom would design and painstakingly make, by hand, hundreds of Christmas ornaments that she would sell in local bazaars. I have fond memories of our dining room completely covered with clown marionettes (with ribbon ruffs) or teddy bears sitting on baby blocks, as Mom hand-painted and glazed each and every one.

But my fondest–and most hilarious–memory is when I was four: the year Mom made my brother and I matching green velvet Christmas finery. I was beside myself: the dress was long and trimmed with white eyelet lace. I had, and have, never been so glamorous. My brother, who was two, was decked out in a green velvet vest and shorts, which made him look like an adorable toddler Kermit the Frog. We have pictures. They still make us laugh.

For years my brother and I have been threatening to break out the green velvet and recreate these magical memories, but this year I think I’m actually going to do it: I want to make a big, fancy, green velvet dress that screams Christmas and that I can wear to our fancy Christmas cocktail party.

It’s been almost 20 years since I’ve worked with velvet. It’s not very fashionable for the over-12 set (at least not since the ’90s), and it’s a pain to work with. However, I’m not going to let this stop me–I will make my dreams come true. Unless I lose interest halfway. I’m not making any promises here, folks.

Here are the three patterns I am considering:

Vogue Patterns V2903: Misses V-Neck Fit and Flare Dresses

christmasdress1

Pros: Big, swishy skirt. I feel like a constructed, retro style would lend itself well to velvet. Cons: I don’t think the pleats will work with velvet.

Butterick B6094: Misses’ Fold-Back Facing Dresses

christmasdress2

Pros: The bias-cut skirt is big and swishy without the bulk of gathers or pleats, plus that back is amazing! Cons: Not sure if I want to make a petticoat. I own one, might work.

Butterick B5748: Misses’/Misses’ Petite Flared Dresses

christmasdress3

Pros: I love the idea of an actual retro pattern. Cons: This is basically a less interesting version of Butterick B6094, above.

So what do you think? Which should I pick? And . . . should I make a vest for Beej?!?

4 thoughts on “Help Me Make a Christmas Dress

  1. Mary-Suzanne says:

    Unless you’re doing stretch velvet (which, knowing you, I’m gonna assume is a no…) I’d recommend fewer style lines – pleats and princess seams get fussy with bulkier fabric, and they need pressing which is a bit tricky with velvet… Plus, consider that you’ll probably want to line at least the bodice, which doubles the work…

    I vote for the second one – it’s got fewer bust darts and I really like the back, especially since it’s set up for a secondary color, which would be cool for accessorizing (shoes, hat, jewelry, etc…)

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, my god! Elizabeth I made that Vogue dress! Not in velvet, but I made it a few years ago for a Christmas party and I LOVED it. It s not too difficult to make and it turns out very nice.

    I love that picture of you and your brother. So, cute. My mom didn’t sew, but she did love to get me fancy dresses as a little girl. I loved it!

    O’ya, definitely a velvet vest for your brother.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

