Happy Monday! Shameless Self Promotion Edition

New Mutants Forever #1 Bill Sienkiewicz

New Mutants Forever #1, cover by Bill Sienkiewicz.

Happy Monday, you guys! I hope you had a wonderful weekend. I had a very full weekend. On Saturday, Sarah went to Sid’s mom’s house for the day, so Scott and I could celebrate our anniversary by walking at least eight miles, visiting the Portland Art Museum, and seeing Star Trek Beyond (we accidentally saw it in 3-D, but really enjoyed it–it’s like a giant-sized Trek episode on steroids). On Sunday, we went to the Washington County Fair and I broke my cardinal rule: I bought unlimited ride bracelets before checking the lines for the rides. I lived to regret this purchase, because it was super crowded.

But enough about me, what about . . . me? Yes, the first link is something I helped make. Love me! Listen to me talk about comics!

Geekery

I was so fortunate to be asked back to my favorite podcast, Jay & Miles X-Plain the X-Men, for the third time! In episode #119, Red Night of the Soul, Miles and I discuss the 2010 limited series New Mutants Forever, by Chris Claremont, Bob McLeod, and Al Rio.

The Doubleclicks, Portland’s beloved geek-folk sister band, will be playing Gen Con in Indianapolis August 6!

Plus, September 2-5, the Doubleclicks will have 10 (10!) performances in Atlanta for Dragon*Con!

Live in Portland? Don’t worry–you can catch the The Doubleclicks Variety Show August 25 and September 29 at Kickstand Comedy Space.

Wow. You will have a whole new appreciation for Scooby Doo after you check out these 50 background paintings over at the Secret Fun Blog.

Cooking

Oh my god, this Secret Buckeye Bundt Cake was soooo good. And soooo filling. Eat a salad for dinner and eat the cake with a large glass of milk.

Actually, make this Thai Chicken and Noodle Salad from Martha Stewart. It was easy, tasty, and perfect for hot weather.

How’s your life going? I can’t believe summer is almost over! Post your doings below.

Leave a comment