10-Item Wardrobe Prep: Summer 2017

Hey everyone! Hope you had a wonderful weekend. I was busy podcasting and doing load upon load upon load of laundry, while enduring 100-degree weather. Oh Portland, why do you go from rain to trying to kill me in June?

But! I’ve also been putting the finishing touches on this year’s Summer 10-Item Wardrobe, which means I had to go through last year’s to evaluate the condition and usefulness of each piece. Join me and see who lives . . . and who goes to Goodwill.

10 item wardrobe

Fisherman’s wool sweater, vintage.

Oh, this sweater. I really loved it. I’m also glad I got it for about $40 on Etsy, because this sweater is full of holes. I noticed a couple right after I received it and tied them off, but I keep finding them, and it really is super bulky and heavy and warm, and I just can’t make it work. Boo.

10 item wardrobe

J Crew Factory jeans.

These jeans are pretty great, but have I mentioned it is super hot this summer? These jeans will go bye-bye until next spring.

10-Item Wardrobe

Gap cropped white jeans.

Same for these babies.

10-Item Wardrobe

J Crew Factory striped dress. I love this dress. I wore it until I was eight months pregnant last year and it still looks great.

I loved this dress so hard. I bought it in 2012 and wore it before, during, and after my pregnancy, but the neckline started to unravel, and it is gone.

10-Item Wardrobe

Floral dress, made by me maybe five or six years ago? Pattern by Amy Butler.

This dress will liiiiiiiive foreverrrr (™ Queen) and I am keeping it.

10-Item Wardrobe

J Crew Factory chambray shirt.

This shirt! I also bought this five years ago and wore it over and over again, but the underarms finally got discolored and I had to donate it. Geez, will I have any clothes left?

FullSizeRender 27

J. Crew Factory striped short-sleeve shirt.

A keeper! Whew. I just got this last year, and so far it’s just as durable as its long-sleeved counterpart. I am pleased.

FullSizeRender 22

J. Crew Factory 5″ chino shorts.

So this kind of sucks, but I’m sharing. I was one size in J. Crew Factory before my pregnancy, and I was one size smaller after my pregnancy. I knew it wouldn’t last. I resisted buying new clothes! But I did. And now–I’m back to my original size, and these give me camel toe, and I may keep them in reserve in case I get food poisoning or something but . . . gone.

FullSizeRender 25

J. Crew Factory 5″ chino shorts.

Ditto! Buh-bye.

FullSizeRender 23

J. Crew Factory striped dress.

I still love this dress, but I do not wear it often enough for it to be part of my 10-Item Wardrobe. It’s been kicked up to special occasion wear, because Portland is hella casual.

Uhhhh . . . so I’m only keeping two out of my 10 items! Fortunately, I did save some older shorts, and I do rotate things in and out of my wardrobes, so I didn’t have to buy all new things. You’ll have to wait until my next fashion post to see this season’s wardrobe (the suspense!), but I can show you the one piece that’s pulling it all together!

IMG_1727

Merona pink cotton cardigan.

It’s wrinkly in the picture (I’ll take a better one later) and I got it for free at my friend Melissa’s Naked Lady Party (a clothes swap, don’t be scandalized), but I really love this sweater! I originally picked it to wear (as Audrey) at our Twin Peaks brunch, but it’s perfect for summer: lightweight, a great color, and a flattering fit.

Stay tuned, true believers! I should post my full Summer 2017 10-Item Wardrobe Wednesday . . . if I can get all this laundry done!

Leave a comment