Happy Monday! Links to Make Your Day Brighter

Happy Monday, folks! How was your weekend? We spent ours getting super lost on our way to a hike (I hate hiking) only to find that our super stroller wasn’t up to a “moderate” trail (I hate hiking). However, we were in excellent company and then thoroughly enjoyed lunch in an old-fashioned diner/soda shop (I love eating).

Linkage!

Blueberry Buttermilk Coffee Cake

Yummy coffee cake!

I had some buttermilk to use up, so I made this Blueberry Buttermilk Coffee Cake (I added cinnamon to the topping). Delicious, and BIG. Gonna freeze individual portions.

Today is the first day of summer vacation, yay! I’m now a stay-at-home mom and have Sid (10) and Sarah (8 months) full time. While Sid will have various camps every other week, I’ve been busy checking out activities we can do that will get him away from the screens and either outside or learning something. Here are some ideas, in case you need them.

  • The local branch of our public library has a lot of amazing, free activities every week! Here’s a link to find a library near you.
  • It’s Heroes Month at the Portland Children’s Museum! This is another great source of free or low-cost kids activities. Here’s a great link to find museums.
  • Swimming! (Keep your eyes peeled and SPF on everyone.)Β Find a pool here.
  • I may be an idiot, but I really want to go camping. With a baby. I figure we’ll start small, with a short weekend at a nearby spot. Since I don’t want to leave anything to chance, I like to use Reserve America to plan our camping trips.

One thing we’re definitely doing is making this Naturally Carbonated Lemonade from the Zero Waste Chef. Refreshing and educational!

In case you missed it, I posted my Summer 2015 10-Item Wardrobe. Lots of stripes. Lots of comics stuff.

Finally, check out a preview of B.P.R.D. Hell On Earth #132, out this Wednesday!

Do you have any summer kids’ activities to share? Any tips for camping with a baby? Post them below!

4 thoughts on “Happy Monday! Links to Make Your Day Brighter

  1. I have a 14-year old at home who doesn’t want to do anything. At 10 they still are enthusiastic. I know you want to get away from the screens, but here is something I’ve been dying to share with someone: https://scratch.mit.edu/projects/11109138/ That’s a game my daughter made. It’s a free and fun site (at least, Charlotte liked it a couple of years ago…before the teen years…) Good luck with the camping! I think it’s a good idea. Thanks for the mention πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment