Happy Monday*! Clown Motels, Donut Bread Pudding, #SCOIP & More

Donut Bread Pudding with chocolate sauce. Serve it warm topped with vanilla ice cream and life your best life. Oprah approves.

Happy Monday*! I’m writing this post now because I had a rough night with Sarah. She’s been sleeping through the night for the past four-plus months (yes, I’m spoiled), but with her top two teeth coming in, she’s been waking up in the middle of the night crying–she didn’t get back to sleep for two hours last night, so she slept in, and so she missed her morning nap (Mommy Writing Time), and so here we are. Wow, that was a fascinating story. Next: would you like to see the 5,000 pictures of my kids that I took in the past two days?

*This was then bumped to Tuesday after I got sidetracked by sewing questions and started researching ribbed trim. I am a laugh a minute!

Moving right along:

Clown Motel

This gets its own subheading because it is one of the coolest projects I have ever seen. Let me explain: No, there is too much. Let me sum up–my friend and comic book writer Christopher Sebela (We(lcome Back, High Crimes) created a Kickstarter to live at a Clown Motel for a month. It was funded in four hours. Here’s the video:

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1196365711/i-live-in-a-clown-motel-a-journey-into-the-heart-o/widget/video.html

Tonopah, NV is an incredibly long drive from Portland (12 and a half hours), and the hotel is weirdly amazing. It’s adjacent to a pioneer cemetery full of miners, there are dozens of feral cats, and actual clowns showed up the other night. Sebela’s updates are priceless–there’s a week left for you to follow him on Twitter and experience living in a Clown Motel for yourself.

#SCOIP

It’s no secret that I’m a huge fan of the Rachel & Miles X-Plain the X-Men podcast–and not just because I got to guest host once! This is an excellent, fast-moving, action-packed podcast that effortlessly takes all the ins and outs of the X-Men (and related superhero entities) and makes them accessible–and entertaining–for both diehard fans and newbies alike. Trust me, you’ll feel both geekier and smarter after you listen.

So I was incredibly excited when they announced SECRET CONVERGENCE ON INFINITE PODCASTS, a nine-episode crossover event combining more than 15 hosts from Fan Bros Show; Into It; SILENCE!; Less than Live; Journey into Misery; Wait, What?; House to Astonish, War Rocket Ajax, and Rachel & Miles X-Plain the X-Men, airing October 29-November 29.

While I’ve been aware of War Rocket Ajax, I haven’t listened to any of the other podcasts–I might go through and select an episode from each before #SCOIP begins. I’ll let you know!

Twin Peaks: Fun Donut Times

After the fun and excitement of our Twin Peaks dinner party, we threw a Twin Peaks brunch this past weekend! I’ll have a separate post on that later, but in the meantime, I found a recipe to use up leftover donuts when your husband buys way too many donuts for a brunch: this Krispy Kreme Bread Pudding was amazing. I just used plain glazed donuts from the grocery store.

That’s all I have for now–as usual, I have a million posts running through my head (Star Wars!) and I can only hope to catch them and type them up.

Leave a comment